Uncategorized

Thoughts from my recumbent bike at the gym

Life was getting the best of me today, so I grab the kids and head to the gym.  The fancy YMCA that has the best childcare & kid fit classes on Wednesdays.  🙂  Toss them all into their classes and head to the recumbent bike section, since I just don’t feel like walking/running/elliptical-ing today.  No weight machines either.  Just biking for about 50 minutes.  As I bike, I’m watching my Hulu shows and then my mind starts drifting.  I start looking around, peeking at other people in the gym, thinking all kinds of things.

…He’s about to fall flat off of that treadmill…

…He looks like he’s one of those meat-head jocks who does nothing more than run and lift weights 24/7…

…I run faster than that…Oh but now she has to go and increase her speed to WAY faster than I could ever do…

…Oh my gosh, his feet are so close to the edge, please Lord, don’t let him fall off of that treadmill!…

…Is this lady really kicking her leg out practically above MY head, as she takes every other step up the stair machine?!…So weird!…

…I wonder how many people are behind me on the weight machines?  I would go workout on them there if no one was there…

…I bet she’s needing a break from her kids too…

…And him, probably needing a break from his nagging wife!  HAHA…

…Thank goodness he’s leaving — I honestly thought he was about to fly off of that treadmill!!…

…I wish I didn’t have these knee problems…

…Maybe if I put my hands on my legs, I will get more steps in on my FitBit…since sitting and bicycling doesn’t really do anything for my upper body or legs…gotta do something to get those steps in!…

…I should be running…

…I wish this were Camp Gladiator…But at least it’s more convenient…

…Oh poo, it’s almost church time…better start my cool down…

…Maybe I’ll lose this weight after all…I mean, I am making it to the gym at least 3-4 times a week already, and sitting here biking 7 miles HAS to be better than sitting on my rear at home while watching TV..right?!…

So we leave and shove mac & cheese down the throats of my church-going kiddos and get them to church just in time for AWANA to start.  I go and sit at Sonic while they’re at church, drinking my free Route 44 soda while listening to music and thinking about how I should be out running or something, and at least drinking water instead of this coke.  Wasn’t I just thinking about how being mobile is better than sitting still doing nothing?  Ugh.  I’ll just hit the gym again tomorrow.

Get the kids home and ready for bed, and Olivia sees me peering in the mirror, wondering aloud if I’d gained any muscle or lost any weight lately…. And she says the following:

“Mommy, you look like you’re having a baby!!  Mommy’s having a baby!  Mommy’s having a baby!!”

DEFINITELY back to the gym tomorrow.

(And NO, I’m not having any more babies!!)

Leave a Reply

